McPherson County Soil Conservation District to hold annual meeting


The McPherson County Conservation District will hold its 2020 annual meeting at 6:30 p.m. Jan. 27 at the McPherson County 4-H Building. The meeting will open with dinner at 6:30 p.m. followed by the business meeting at 7:15 p.m. There is no charge for the dinner, but reservations are required. The business meeting is open to the public. Dinner reservations should be made by Jan. 20 by mail to McPherson County Conservation District, 200 S. Centennial, Suite A, McPherson KS 67460, by email at or by phone at 620-241-1836 ext. 3067.
During the business meeting, annual financial and activity reports will be presented, and two supervisors will be elected to the board. Four McPherson County producers will be recognized for conservation work and development of wildlife habitat. They are: Susan Raleigh (owner) and Tim and Teri Bornholdt (operator), Windom, Bankers’ Award for soil conservation; Harry Neufeldt, Inman, windbreak award; Chris and Sheri Thompson, McPherson, for grassland management; and William and Gwen Gately, McPherson, nominated by Pheasants Forever for development of wildlife habitat.
Providing entertainment for the evening is singer Ian Hawkins. A native of Medicine Lodge, Hawkins now lives in Wichita and performs around the region. His latest album, “Like My Daddy Did,” was released in November and highlighted as an album that “should be added to your playlist” by the Dirt Road Anthems website. His music is available from Google Play, iTunes, Spotify and all streaming sites.
The McPherson County Conservation District actively supports conservation of land and water, wildlife habitat development and related activities in the county under the direction of an elected board of supervisors. Activities in 2019 included the state-funded Water Resource Cost-Share program, which assisted landowners in building and repairing terraces, diversion systems, and building and seeding or
repair of grassed waterways. The district continues work with producers and landowners in remediation along the Smoky Hill River through stream bank stabilization and other conservation practices. In cooperation with Harvey County and the City of Wichita, the district has been, and continues to be, involved in a multi-year atrazine run-off program that has resulted in several producers incorporating
farming practices which ensure less atrazine run off. The district also supports conservation programs with NRCS.
McPherson County Conservation District Board Supervisors who served in 2019 are Brad Shogren, Gary Patrick, Robert Kaufman, Joe Larson and Baron Shively. Shogren’s and Larson’s positions are up for election. Both are seeking re-election. Joe Hecht serves as the Natural Resource Conservation Service District Conservationist for the county. McPherson County Conservation District personnel include John Berndsen, NRCS technician, and Barbara Rush, district manager.
The United States has nearly 3,000 conservation districts working at the local level on conservation issues. Kansas districts are organized along county boundary lines. Conservation districts provide an excellent opportunity for assisting local governments and landowners with all facets of land management through helping landowners develop land management plans and setting local policy. If you are interested in serving as a board supervisor, contact the McPherson Conservation District Office.

%d bloggers like this: