Bullpup Wrestlers Place Sixth In TOC


Sports Editor Peter Holland Jr.

NEWTON— The McPherson High School wrestling team may not have a first-place winner individually, but out of 33 teams, the Bullpups finished sixth in the Tournament of Champions in Newton over the weekend.

Finishing ahead McPherson was Goddard High School, a Class 5A Champion last season, was the top school in the TOC with 213 1/2 points.  Blue Valley Southwest High School finished second with 190, Maize High School had 183 1/2 and both Olathe South High School beat Washburn Rural High School had 159, but Olathe South was ahead by a half.

Rhett Edmonson was the top wrestler as he was placed second in the 145-pound class. After winning three straight matches, he fell to Brandon Maddonof Blue Valley Southwest, 4-0. Landon Frantz took third in his weight class. After losing his first match to Trey Wilson of Seneca High School, he bounced back with six straight wins, including a 4-2 victory over Tyler Allen of Derby High School. Mason Thrash took fourth at 220 with a 4-2 record.  Kourtney Craig was seventh at 182, and Devin Frantz was placed eighth at 160.

Jonah Clarke, who was the remaining undefeated wrestler left for McPherson, had a disappointing weekend as he fell in the second round to Seth Nitze of BV Southwest and then to Matthew Morrell of Bishop Carroll High School in the consolation round.

The Bullpups will move on to their next tournament when they compete in the Bob Kuhn Prairie Classic in Hays.

Final Results:


Treyton Pelnar, 1-2


Brock Burgess, 1-2


Lorenzo Cruzen, 2-2


Jace Anderson, 0-2


Collin Pearson, 2-2


Landon Crews, 1-2


Rhett Edmonson, 3-1, 2nd


Nate Rogers, 0-2


Devin Frantz, 4-3, 8th


Jonah Clarke, 1-2


Kourtney Craig, 4-2, 7th


Landon Frantz, 6-1, 3rd


Mason Thrash, 4-2, 4th


Jonah Scott, 2-2

%d bloggers like this: