MIT Roundup: Bishop Carroll wins first McPherson Invitational


Sports Editor Peter Holland Jr.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th F

LFS   7   5  17   10  39

BC   8  14  14    8  44

The McPherson Invitational has come to an end with the Bishop Carroll High School boys basketball team winning the three-day tournament on Saturday after defeating Lawrence Free State High School 44-39.  This will be the Golden Eagles’ first win at the MIT in program history.

Bishop Carroll showed once again has shown how balanced and deep they are on the roster.  One of their top players Tanner Mans, was out for the rest of the game after sustaining a concussion in the first quarter. So Alex Littlejohn and Enrique Lankford carried the Golden Eagles to victory. Lankford led the Golden Eagles with 15 points and was 3 for 5 from behind the arc. Littlejohn has been a walking double-double all year in the city league and Saturday was no different as finished with 10 points and 10 rebounds. He was named MIT’s Most Valuable Player by the end of the tournament.

Defense was the game for either side as it was 8-7 by end fo the first quarter. Bishop Carroll outscored Free State by end of the second 15-14, which gave the Golden Eagles 22-12 lead at halftime.

The Firebirds finally got rolling when they dropped 27 points in the second half. Making it more convincing, the Firebirds were down by three in the final minute of the fourth quarter.  Lawrence Free State had possession of the ball and made an attempt to the tie game. It became a disaster when the ball was deflected by Bishop Carroll’s Preston Rottinghaus, Littlejohn made the steal and Carter Reid made the final layup, assisted by Littlejohn,  to close the deal in the finals.

Free State had no one reached double-figures. Ethan Lincold and Andrew Piper tied for eight points. D.K. Middleton only had three points.

Bishop Carroll’s Head Coach Mike Domnick believes the tournament was beneficial and it could build momentum as the regular season resumes next week.

“It’s been like this for two to three years,” Domnick said. “The kids have bought in. Of course, when you play in the city league, it prepares us so much for all the things we’re going to see for so long. Those athletes we come up and the dribble drives that we see all the time. It really helps us prepare us for any type of teammate that we will face.”

LFS: Andrew Piper 8 pts., Ethan Lincold 8 pts., Miles Branch 7 pts.,  Olin Yoder 6 pts., Middleton 3 pts., Daniels 3 pts., Hawkins 3 pts., Downing 1 pts.

BC: Lankford 15 pts., Littlejohn 10 pts., Larkin 7 pts., Carter 4 pts., Bullinger 3 pts., St. Vrain 2 pts., Mans 2 pts., Powell 1 pts.

  Derby takes third over Blue Valley  

1st 2nd 3rd 4th F

BV: 8   18  14   21 61

Der: 20 12  16  22  70

The Derby High School boys basketball team had a 20-8 lead in the first quarter and never looked back. The Panthers beat Blue Valley High School 70-61, earning them a third-place finish in the MIT.

Blue Valley was 0 for 6 from behind the arc but went 6 for 11 in the second quarter to which had them overcome a 12-point deficit. Despite being 50 percent from the field, Derby still had the edge the whole game led by Nick Bonner, who dropped 27 points and was one rebound away of a double-double performance. Aidan Shaw had 19 points for Blue Valley,

BV: Shaw 19 pts., Blandi 16 pts., Young 10 pts., Hill 5 pts., Wippermann 4 pts., Stephens 4 pts., Demo 3 pts.

Derby: Bonner 27 pts., Washington 13 pts., Karsak 12 pts., Ray 8 pts., Chadwick 5 pts., Adler 3 pts., Clemons 2 pts.,

Wichita North captures first win on the year

1st 2nd 3rd 4th F

WN 19  11  18  16   64

Sea 10  17  11  22  60

By the end of the tournament, one team left with their first win on the year. That belonged to Wichita North High School. The Redskins beat Topeka Seaman High School 64-60, claiming seventh in the MIT.

For Topeka Seaman, shooting 50 percent from the three-point line wasn’t enough to take down Wichita North. Dagen Brew and Micah Kobuszewski combined for 6 for 11 in three-pointers and had a total of 29 points.

The Redskins were led by their top scorer Emmanuel Gonzalez as he dropped 27 points on the Vikings. Marvin Ruffin added 12 points and Omarion Trezvant had 10 points. 

North: Gonzalez 27 pts., Ruffin 12 pts., Trezvant 10 pts., Lawrie 6 pts., Carter 4 pts., Underwood 3 pts., Diaz 2 pts.

Seaman: Brewer 15 pts., Kobuszewski 14 pts., Bonner 9 pts., Foster 8 pts., Cowan 8 pts., Patterson Jr. 4 pts., Zeferjahn 2 pts.

All-Tournament Team: 

Screen Shot 2020-01-26 at 11.39.48 AM
The McPherson Invitational releases its all-tournament team Left to Right: Tanner Mans, Alex Littlejohn Enrique Lankford, Cody Stufflebean, Olin Yoder, Nick Bonner and D.K. Middleton [Courtesy Photo/ MHS]
Bishop Carroll: Enrique Lankford, Tanner Mans, Alex Littlejohn

Derby: Nick Bonner

McPherson: Cody Stufflebean

Blue Valley: Aiden Shaw, Miles Blandi

Junction City: Qua’Vez Humphreys

Topeka-Seaman: Kaeden Bonner

Lawrence Free State: D.K. Middleton, Olin Yoder

MVP — Alex Littlejohn

MIT Standings

  1. Bishop Carroll
  2. Lawrence Free State
  3. Derby
  4. Blue Valley
  5. McPherson 
  6. Junction City
  7. Wichita North
  8. Topeka Seaman
%d bloggers like this: