Kansas Coaches Honored by NFHS, Bordewick National COY


TOPEKA, Kan. — The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) has announced that Washburn Rural’s Kevin Bordewick has been named the National Coaches Association Volleyball Coach of the Year for the 2019-20 school season. Six other coaches have been tabbed as section five award winners.

Bordewick is the 37th Kansan all-time to be named a national award winner by the NFHS. In 2019, Bordewick led Washburn Rural to a 40-6 record that included a runner up finish at the KSHSAA 6A State Volleyball Championship. In the Centennial League last year, the Junior Blues placed seniors Macy DeLeye and Eisa Mondragon and freshman Brooklyn DeLeye on the first team, with DeLeye also being named the Centennial League newcomer of the year. Coach Bordewick was also named the league coach of the year. In 26 seasons, Bordewick has gathered a career record of 908-252 and is a seven time Kansas Coach of the Year.

The NFHS is divided into eight geographical sections. They are as follows: Section 1 – Northeast (CT, ME, MA, NH, NJ, NY, RI, VT); Section 2 – Mideast (DE, DC, KY, MD, OH, PA, VA, WV); Section 3 – South (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN); Section 4 – Central (IL, IN, IA, MI, WI); Section 5 – Midwest (KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD); Section 6 – Southwest (AR, CO, NM, OK, TX); Section 7 – West (AZ, CA, HI, NV, UT); and Section 8 – Northwest (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY).

The sectional committee representatives evaluate the state award recipients from the states in their respective sections and select the best candidates for the sectional award in each sport category. The NFHS Coaches Association Advisory Committee then considers the sectional candidates in each sport, ranks them according to a point system, and determines a national winner for each of the 20 sport categories, the spirit category and two “other” categories.

NFHS Sectional Coaches of the Year (2019-20):

Travis Keal, Boys Wrestling – Mill Valley HS
Warren Seitz, Football (11-player) – Seneca-Nemaha Central HS
Matthew Trumpp, Boys Soccer – Olathe West HS
George Rossi, Girls Cross Country – Norton Community HS
Kevin Bordewick, Volleyball – Washburn Rural HS (National Winner)
Edwin Fritz, Boys Basketball – Blue Valley Northwest HS
Damon Parker, Girls Wrestling – Topeka-Washburn Rural HS

State Coaches of the Year (2019-20):

Randy Walling, Boys Middle School – Clay Center JH
Becky Delimont, Spirit – Almena-Northern Valley HS
Cody Fothergill, Boys Swimming and Diving – Shawnee Mission North HSSeth White, Bowling – Salina South HS
Shelby Hoppes, Football (8-Player) – Canton-Galva HS
Jodie Karsak, Girls Basketball – Derby HS
Matt Babcock, Girls Tennis – Buhler HS
Mike Horton, Boys Cross Country – Johnson-Stanton County HS
Cyndi Atwell, Girls Middle School – Concordia JH
David Hansen, Girls Golf – Shawnee Mission East HS
JoAnne Thaw, Girls Gymnastics – Newton HS

The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), and in one “other” sport that is not included in the top 10 listings. Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year for which they receive their award.

The KSHSAA works with the Kansas Coaches Association (KCA) to nominate Kansas coaches. The KCA contacts their potential state award recipients to complete a “coach profile” form that requests information regarding the coach’s record, membership in and affiliation with coaching and other professional organizations, involvement with other school and community activities and programs, and coaching philosophy. To be approved as an NFCA award recipient and considered for sectional and national coach of the year, this profile form must be completed by the coach or designee and then approved by the executive director (or designee) of the state athletic/activities association.

%d bloggers like this: